The next man to walk on the moon was one of 18 Artemis astronauts

NASA has released the list of astronauts who will be responsible for the Artemis moon landing program. They are 18 years old, 9 males and 9 females, and can claim to be able to walk on the moon by the end of the century.

In 1959 there was the Mercury VII. Now there is Artemis XVIII. As at the beginning, NASA introduced the astronauts who will be participating in its new Artemis moon program on the evening of December 9, 2020. They were eighteen years old, nine boys and nine girls. Only five of them were present, it was announced at the Kennedy Space Center during the eighth session of the National Space Council, chaired by U.S. Vice President Mike Pence. Like their 1959 elders, representatives of the new group took the stage and said a few words. However, a sign of 2020 was later determined that they were all wearing anti-coronavirus masks, their faces still hidden.

However, it is necessary to know about them, because among them there may be 13and Astronauts who will walk on the moon more than 50 years after Apollo 17’s Harrison Schmidt. And possibly a woman, the first to walk on the night star. Their names are: Joseph Acaba, Kayla Barron, Raja Chari, Matthew Dominick, Victor Glover, Warren Hoburg, Jonny Kim, Christina Koch, Kjell Lindgren, Nicole Mann, Anne McLain, Jessica Meir, Jasmin Moghbeli, Kate Rubins, Frank Rubio, Scott Sting, Jessica Watkins, Stephanie Wilson.

18 astronauts selected by NASA for the Artemis program. © NASA

Experienced astronauts and young recruits

The Artemis team is made up of seasoned astronauts and recruits, most of whom arrived at NASA in 2013 and 2017. Nine of them (half) have flown at least one space mission: Joseph Akaba, Victor Glover (currently at the ISS), Christina Koch, Kjell Lindgren, Anne McLain, Jessica Meir, Kate Rubins (currently also on the ISS) at ISS), Scott Tingle and Stephanie Wilson.

In terms of the number of flights performed, the most successful were Joseph Akaba and Stephanie Wilson, who stayed in space three times each. Born in 1967 and 1966, they are veterans of the show. Follow Kate Rubins as she’s currently on her second spaceflight. All others have only one mission to commend. However, Christina Koch’s only trip to the International Space Station was not in vain: She spent 328 days in orbit, holding the record for weightlessness for a woman on a single mission. Jessica Meyer and Anne McClain accumulated 204 and 205 days, respectively.

If we consider the number of spacewalks, Christina Koch made six excursions outside the International Space Station, totaling 42 hours and 15 minutes. Three of these outings were all women, for the first time. Joseph Acaba and Jessica Meir conducted six extravehicular activities (EVAs). Kate Rubins, Anne McLain and Kjell Lindgren each have two EVAs. In the end, Scott Tingle only ventured into the vacuum of space once. Meanwhile, Stephanie Wilson never left her ship.

new configuration file

As for astronauts who haven’t flown yet, they all have exemplary careers. Several were or are fighter pilots or test pilots. Examples include Raja Chari (US Air Force Pilot), Matthew Dominick (Navy Test Pilot), Nicole Mann (F-18 Pilot and Test Pilot), Anne McLain (Navy Test Pilot), Jasmin Moghbeli (Navy Test Pilot and Helicopter Pilot), Frank Rubio (Navy Helicopter Pilot) and Scott Tingle (Navy Test Pilot). But it’s not just pilots. Kayla Barron is, for example, a systems engineer and nuclear engineer; Warren Hoburg is an aerospace expert with a Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science; and Jessica Watkins is a geologist.

Finally, of the astronauts who have flown, Joseph Akaba is a professor of geology (an interesting skill for exploring the moon), Kate Rubins is a PhD in biology, and Jessica Meir is a PhD in marine biology , Frank Rubio is a surgeon, Christina Koch is an electrical engineer, Kjell Lindgren is an MD, a cardiovascular physiologist, Jonny Kim is a physician, and Stephanie Wilson is a space engineer.

Team to be formed

The first manned mission to the moon should be Artemis 2. It had to lead four astronauts around the moon. The next one, Artemis 3, should allow two astronauts to walk on the moon in 2024, according to a timeline announced by the Trump administration. But no one knows if the ambitious schedule can be kept up. The composition of the crew has so far been unclear. Will NASA support the experience of the first mission as it did during the Apollo program? Regardless, the fact that there are four seats on each capsule should allow it to seat new astronauts from the start.


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: